Carolyn Kremers

Alaska Literary Award, 2023 Fairbanks Carolyn Kremers, a multifaceted talent in the literary world, seamlessly blends her roles as a poet, nonfiction writer, dedicated teacher, and lifelong musician. Her academic journey is marked by a rich tapestry of accomplishments: a BA in English and Honors Humanities from Stanford, a teaching certificate from the University of Illinois Chicago, a BA in … Read More

Annie Wenstrup

Alaska Literary Award, 2023 Fairbanks Annie Wenstrup, a Dena’ina poet from Fairbanks, Alaska, brings the essence of her heritage to life through her stirring words. Her poetic achievements have graced the Alaska Quarterly Review, the New England Review, and Poetry Magazine. Her talent also shone in Poetry Northwest as a finalist for the James Welch Indigenous Poetry Prize. 2023 marked a year … Read More

Paul Greci

Alaska Literary Award, 2023 Fairbanks Paul Greci stands as a towering figure in the realm of Alaska wilderness survival novels, having penned four award-winning titles: "Surviving Bear Island," "Follow the River," "The Wild Lands," and "Hostile Territory." His gripping tale, "Surviving Bear Island," was honored as the Alaska Reads book for 2022-23. Additionally, "The Wild Lands" captivated … Read More

Emily Wall

Alaska Literary Award, 2023 Douglas Hailing from the scenic landscapes of Douglas, Alaska, Emily Wall serves as a beacon of poetic inspiration as a Professor of English at the University of Alaska. Emily, a distinguished alumna with an M.F.A. in poetry from the University of Arizona, weaves her words into a tapestry of expression that has graced journals throughout the US and Canada. Her … Read More

Mary Katzke

Alaska Literary Award, 2017 Anchorage Mary Katzke moved to Alaska in 1979 after completing her undergraduate degree at the University of Texas Austin in Radio-Television-Film. She formed her nonprofit Affinityfilms, Inc. after producing her first documentary film, No Word for Rape and went on to produce and direct over three dozen films including Sea of Oil, About Face, World School, Backing … Read More

Recipients of the 2017 Alaska Literary Awards and 2017 Connie Boochever Fellows Announced

The Alaska Arts and Culture Foundation, in partnership with the Alaska State Council on the Arts (ASCA), is pleased to announce the artist recipients of the 2017 Alaska Literary Award and the 2017 Connie Boochever Fellowships. Alaska Literary Awards The following five Alaska literary artists, selected from a pool of 42 applications, will each receive $5,000 awards: Mary Katzke, … Read More

Sara Loewen

Alaska Literary Award, 2016 Kodiak Sara Loewen is the author of Gaining Daylight: Life on Two Islands, which won the Willa Award for creative nonfiction. She earned her MFA from the University of Alaska, Anchorage. Her essays have appeared in Made of Salmon: Alaska Stories from the Salmon Project, and the Alaska Dispatch Magazine, 61 Degrees North. She works at Kodiak College and commercial … Read More

Daryl Farmer

Alaska Literary Award, 2016 Fairbanks Daryl Farmer is the author of Bicycling beyond the Divide, which received a Barnes and Noble Discover Award and Where We Land, a collection of short stories. His recent work has appeared in The Whitefish Review, Hayden's Ferry Review and Gingerbread House. He is an associate professor at the University of Alaska Fairbanks, where he is director of the … Read More

2016 Alaska Literary Awards Announced

The Alaska Arts and Culture Foundation, in partnership with the Alaska State Council on the Arts (ASCA) recently selected four individuals to recognize for their outstanding literary work and receive the 2016 Alaska Literary Award. A select number of $5,000 fellowships for Alaska literary artists are awarded each fall. 2016 Alaska Literary Award Recipients:  Daryl Farmer, creative nonfiction, … Read More

Jill Osier

2015 Alaska Literary Award Fairbanks Jill Osier is the author of three chapbooks of poems: Bedful of Nebraskas (2012), Should Our Undoing Come Down Upon Us White (winner of the 2013 Frost Place Chapbook Competition), and From (2016). Her work has been awarded a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship, the Diane Middlebrook Poetry Fellowship, the George Bennett Fellowship, a Rasmuson … Read More