Alaska Literary Awards

The Alaska Arts and Culture Foundation, in partnership with the Alaska State Council on the Arts (ASCA), offers The Alaska Literary Awards, a new program, established in 2014, to support Alaska writers.

The Alaska Literary Awards recognize and support writers of poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction, playwriting, screenwriting, and mixed genres. Any Alaska writer over the age of 18 who is not a full-time student is eligible to apply. Quality of the work submitted is the primary consideration in determining who receives the awards. A select number of $5,000 awards will be awarded annually.

The application Deadline for 2022 is to be determined.

A select number of $5,000 fellowships for Alaska literary artists will be awarded each fall. A total of 30 writers since 2014 have been recognized for their outstanding work and received the Alaska Literary Award.

The Alaska Literary Awards are sponsored by Peggy Shumaker and Joe Usibelli. Peggy Shumaker is a former Alaska State Writer Laureate and Professor at the University of Alaska. Both she and her husband, Joe Usibelli, are longtime supporters of the arts in Alaska.

Alaska Literary Award Winners

Please click on any of the award-winning writers listed below for more information and samples of her or his work:


Richard Chiappone – Fiction, Homer

Linda Martin – Poetry, Homer

Christy NaMee Eriksen – Mixed Genre, Juneau

Mistee St. Clair – Poetry, Juneau


Mary Odden – Creative non-fiction, Glenallen

Vivian Mork – Poetry, Juneau

Laureli Ivanoff – Creative non-fiction, Unalakleet

Christopher Miles – Poetry, Fairbanks


Chaun Ballard – Mixed Genre, Anchorage

Rosemary McGuire – Creative Nonfiction, Cordova

Kirsten Ritter – Fiction, Anchorage

Caroline Van Hemert – Creative Nonfiction, Anchorage


Mary Katzke, Anchorage, screenwriter

Lily Tuzroyluke, Point Hope, fiction

Vivian Prescott, Wrangell, poetry

Matthew Komatsu, Anchorage, creative nonfiction

Don Rearden, Anchorage (raised in the Yukon-Kuskokwim Delta), fiction


Daryl Farmer, Fairbanks, creative nonfiction

Sara Loewen, Kodiak, creative nonfiction

Lucas Rowley, Anchorage, playwriting

Nicole Stellon O’Donnell, Fairbanks, poetry


Christine Byl, Healy – non-fiction/fiction

Alyse Knorr, Anchorage- poetry

Kyle Mellen, Fairbanks- fiction

Jill Osier, Fairbanks- poetry


Ernestine Hayes, Juneau- fiction/non-fiction, poetry

Erin Coughlin Hollowell, Homer- poetry

Joan Kane, Anchorage, King Island and Mary’s Igloo- poetry

Susanna Mishler, Anchorage- poetry

Frank Soos, Fairbanks- fiction/non-fiction