Alyse Knorr

2015 Alaska Literary Award Anchorage Alyse Knorr is the author of Copper Mother (Switchback Books, 2015), Annotated Glass (Furniture Press Books, 2013) and the chapbooks Epithalamia (Horse Less Press, 2015) and Alternates (Dancing Girl Press, 2014). Her work has appeared in Denver Quarterly, Columbia Poetry Review, The Greensboro Review, Hayden's Ferry Review, storySouth, ZYZZYVA, … Read More

Christine Byl

2015 Alaska Literary Award Healy Christine Byl is the author of Dirt Work: An Education in the Woods, which was a finalist for the Willa Award in non-fiction. Her prose has appeared in Glimmer Train Stories, The Sun, Crazyhorse, and other journals. Byl  earned her MFA in fiction from the University of Alaska-Anchorage and has received awards from the Alaska State Council on the Arts, Rasmuson … Read More

2015 Alaska Literary Awards Announced

The Alaska State Council on the Arts and the Alaska Arts and Culture Foundation recently selected four individuals to recognize for their outstanding literary work and receive the 2015 Alaska Literary Award. A select number of $5,000 fellowships for Alaska literary artists are awarded each fall. 2015 Alaska Literary Award Recipients:  Christine Byl, Denali Park- non-fiction/fiction Alyse … Read More

Ernestine Hayes

2014 Alaska Literary Award Juneau Ernestine Hayes is a prolific, published writer in a variety of genres, including creative nonfiction, book-length nonfiction and creative nonfiction, poetry and prose-poetry, book-length fiction, and fiction essays. She is best known for her autobiography, “Blonde Indian, an Alaska Native Memoir,” which tells the story of the author's journey back home after a … Read More

Lucas Rowley

Alaska Literary Award, 2016 Connie Boochever Award, Literary Arts, 2013 Lucas Rowley was born and raised in Homer, Alaska, and is of Inupiaq, Scottish and Italian descent. He is an award-winning playwright and science fiction author, and has had readings in the last five years in Anchorage, New York City, Los Angeles and Albuquerque. He is a recipient of a Rasmuson Award for literary work … Read More

Nicole Stellon O’Donnell

Connie Boochever Award, Literary Arts, 2013 Alaska Literary Award, 2016 Fairbanks Nicole Stellon O’Donnell’s first collection, Steam Laundry, won the 2013 WILLA Literary Award for Poetry. Her poems have appeared in Prairie Schooner, Passages North, Beloit Poetry Journal, The Women’s Review of Books, Zyzzyva, and other literary journals. Her essays and commentaries appeared in the Anchorage … Read More

Erin Coughlin Hollowell

Connie Boochever Award, Literary Arts, 2013 Alaska Literary Award, 2014 Homer Erin Coughlin Hollowell is a poet and writer who lives at the end of the road in Alaska. Prior to landing in Alaska, she lived on both coasts, in big cities and small towns, pursuing many different professions from tapestry weaving to arts administration. She earned her MFA from the Rainier Writing Workshop at … Read More

Susanna Mishler

2014 Alaska Literary Award Anchorage Susanna J. Mishler’s poems have appeared in Alaska Quarterly Review, The Iowa Review, Michigan Quarterly Review, Mid-American Review, Kenyon Review Online, and elsewhere. Her first collection of poems, Termination Dust, was published by Red Hen Press/Boreal Books in 2014. Susanna holds an MFA in Poetry from The University of Arizona in Tucson, where she … Read More

Frank Soos

2014 Alaska Literary Award Fairbanks Frank Soos has taught English at the University of Alaska since 1986, and currently is Professor Emeritus. He has written many published works including books, short stories and essays. Currently he is working on the following projects: The Team We Got, a book-length work of non-fiction, completed, currently under consideration by several small … Read More

Joan Kane

Connie Boochever Award, Literary Arts, 2009 Alaska Literary Award, 2014 Anchorage Joan Naviyuk Kane is the author of The Cormorant Hunter’s Wife and Hyperboreal. She has received a Whiting Writer’s Award, the Donald Hall Prize in Poetry, the USA Projects Creative Vision Award, an American Book Award, the Alaska Literary Award, and fellowships from the Rasmuson Foundation, Alaska State Council … Read More