2016 Alaska Literary Awards Announced

The Alaska Arts and Culture Foundation, in partnership with the Alaska State Council on the Arts (ASCA) recently selected four individuals to recognize for their outstanding literary work and receive the 2016 Alaska Literary Award. A select number of $5,000 fellowships for Alaska literary artists are awarded each fall.

2016 Alaska Literary Award Recipients: 

Daryl Farmer, creative nonfiction, Fairbanks

Sara Loewen, creative nonfiction, Kodiak

Lucas Rowley, playwriting, Anchorage

Nicole Stellon O’Donnell, poetry, Fairbanks

The Alaska Literary Awards recognizes and supports writers of poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction, playwriting, screenwriting, and mixed genres. Quality of the work submitted is the primary consideration in determining who receives the awards.


The Alaska Literary Awards are sponsored by Peggy Shumaker and Joe Usibelli through their generous donation to the Alaska Arts and Culture Foundation and administered by the Alaska State Council on the Arts. Peggy Shumaker is a former Alaska State Writer Laureate and Professor at the University of Alaska. Both she and her husband, Joe Usibelli, are longtime supporters of the arts in Alaska.