2019 Alaska Literary Awards and 2019 Connie Boochever Fellows Announced

The Alaska Arts and Culture Foundation, in partnership with the Alaska State Council on the Arts (ASCA), is pleased to announce the artist recipients of the 2019 Alaska Literary Awards and the 2019 Connie Boochever Fellowships.

Alaska Literary Awards

The following four Alaska literary artists will each receive $5,000 awards:

  • Chaun Ballard – Mixed Genre, Anchorage
  • Rosemary McGuire – Creative Nonfiction , Cordova
  • Kirsten Ritter – Fiction, Anchorage
  • Caroline Van Hemert – Creative Nonfiction, Anchorage

The Alaska Literary Awards recognize and support writers of poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction, playwriting, screenwriting, and mixed genres. Quality of the work submitted is the primary consideration in determining who receives the awards. The annual Alaska Literary Awards are made possible by Peggy Shumaker and Joe Usibelli through their generous donation to the Alaska Arts and Culture Foundation administered by the Alaska State Council on the Arts.

Connie Boochever Fellowship

  • The following four Alaska visual artists will each receive $2,500 fellowships:
  • Katie Craney – Multi-discipline, Haines
  • Erin Gingrich – Multi-discipline, Anchorage
  • Klara Maisch – Painting, Fairbanks
  • Mark Tetpon – Sculpture and carving, Anchorage

The purpose of the Connie Boochever Artist Fellowship is to recognize and support Alaska emerging artists of exceptional talent. The Connie Boochever Fellowship was established to honor and reflect the spirited passion of the arts Mrs. Boochever consistently demonstrated, and to further the message she championed throughout her life: That the arts are important to the citizens of Alaska and worthy of significant support from individuals, businesses and corporations.