2018 Alaska Literary Awards Application Open

About the Alaska Literary Awards
The Alaska Literary Awards were established in 2014 by the Alaska Arts and Culture Foundation, through a generous gift from Peggy Shumaker and Joe Usibelli.

The Alaska Literary Awards recognize and support writers of poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction, playwriting, screenwriting, and mixed genres.  Any Alaska writer over the age of 18 who is not a full-time student is eligible to apply. Quality of the work submitted is the primary consideration in determining who receives the awards. There are no restrictions on the writer’s use of the award and no formal report is required.

A select number of $5,000 awards will be awarded annually.

The Application Deadline for 2018 is August 19, 2018 at 9:59pm AST. 

Participation is limited to literary artists living in Alaska and pursuing their art form on an ongoing basis.

Applicants must

  • Be a legal resident of Alaska
  • Be 18 years of age or older
  • Not be a full-time student or enrolled in any art-related degree or certification program
  • Apply as an individual artist, not a collaborative group or team

To Apply:
Carefully read the program guidelines at here. Incomplete applications will not be considered. Applicants must complete the application using the CaFE system, including uploading a resume, and appropriate work samples.