2019 Alaska Literary Awards and 2019 Connie Boochever Fellows Announced

The Alaska Arts and Culture Foundation, in partnership with the Alaska State Council on the Arts (ASCA), is pleased to announce the artist recipients of the 2019 Alaska Literary Awards and the 2019 Connie Boochever Fellowships. Alaska Literary Awards The following four Alaska literary artists will each receive $5,000 awards: Chaun Ballard - Mixed Genre, Anchorage Rosemary McGuire - … Read More

Christy Namee Eriksen

Spoken Word Artist, 2017 Korean born and Alaskan grown, Christy's favorite language is poetry. She has shared stages with Patricia Smith, Beau Sia, G Yamazawa, Bao Phi, and a host of other gorgeous slam champions and writers she's still reeling about. Her work has appeared in such places as The Loft Literary Center's Equilibrium series in Minneapolis, The Roundhouse in London, Angry Asian Man, … Read More

Don Rearden

Alaska Literary Arts, 2017 Fiction Don Rearden is a screenwriter, poet, and the author of the critically acclaimed novel, The Raven's Gift, which made The Washington Post Notable List for Fiction. He teaches writing as a Professor at the University of Alaska. Recent honors include a Contributions to Literacy in Alaska Award from the Alaska Center for the Book and a Rasmuson Individual Artist … Read More

Stephanie Wonchala

Dance, 2017 Stephanie Wonchala is an Anchorage choreographer and dance educator. She is the artistic director of Pulse Dance Company, founded in 2010, and owner/operator of Studio Pulse Center for Dance, opened in 2013. Wonchala served as artistic director of the 2014 Arctic Winter Games and has held the position of adjunct faculty with UAA's department of Theatre & Dance. She was … Read More

Christel Veraart

Composer and Musician, 2017 Christel Veraart is a composer, musician and singer. Through her music she explores emotional connections with the natural world and how that shapes moods, dreams and interactions. She has recorded a number of albums and her music has been featured, in film, dance and stage productions, both in the USA as well as abroad. Christel is a recipient of the Connie … Read More

Mary Katzke

Alaska Literary Award, 2017 Anchorage Mary Katzke moved to Alaska in 1979 after completing her undergraduate degree at the University of Texas Austin in Radio-Television-Film. She formed her nonprofit Affinityfilms, Inc. after producing her first documentary film, No Word for Rape and went on to produce and direct over three dozen films including Sea of Oil, About Face, World School, Backing … Read More

2018 Alaska Literary Awards Application Open

About the Alaska Literary Awards The Alaska Literary Awards were established in 2014 by the Alaska Arts and Culture Foundation, through a generous gift from Peggy Shumaker and Joe Usibelli. The Alaska Literary Awards recognize and support writers of poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction, playwriting, screenwriting, and mixed genres.  Any Alaska writer over the age of 18 who is not a full-time … Read More

Recipients of the 2017 Alaska Literary Awards and 2017 Connie Boochever Fellows Announced

The Alaska Arts and Culture Foundation, in partnership with the Alaska State Council on the Arts (ASCA), is pleased to announce the artist recipients of the 2017 Alaska Literary Award and the 2017 Connie Boochever Fellowships. Alaska Literary Awards The following five Alaska literary artists, selected from a pool of 42 applications, will each receive $5,000 awards: Mary Katzke, … Read More

Sara Loewen

Alaska Literary Award, 2016 Kodiak Sara Loewen is the author of Gaining Daylight: Life on Two Islands, which won the Willa Award for creative nonfiction. She earned her MFA from the University of Alaska, Anchorage. Her essays have appeared in Made of Salmon: Alaska Stories from the Salmon Project, and the Alaska Dispatch Magazine, 61 Degrees North. She works at Kodiak College and commercial … Read More

Daryl Farmer

Alaska Literary Award, 2016 Fairbanks Daryl Farmer is the author of Bicycling beyond the Divide, which received a Barnes and Noble Discover Award and Where We Land, a collection of short stories. His recent work has appeared in The Whitefish Review, Hayden's Ferry Review and Gingerbread House. He is an associate professor at the University of Alaska Fairbanks, where he is director of the … Read More